Shout-Out - Brazil

Reading time: 2 minutes



Meet the awarded artists of the 21st Contemporary Art Biennial Sesc_Videobrasil

Sesc 24 de Maio, São Paulo
October 10, 2019 – February 2, 2020

SESC 24 de Maio
R. 24 de Maio, 109
República, São Paulo
SP, 01041-001, Brasil
For more information visit:
Facebook / Instagram / Twitter

At a ceremony held at Sesc 24 de Maio, the 21st Biennial of Contemporary Art Sesc_Videobrasil granted prizes to artists Aykan Safoglu (Turkey),  Dana Awartani (Saudi Arabia), Gabriela Golder (Argentina), Nelson Makengo (Democratic Republic of the Congo), No Martins (Brazil), Roney Freitas & Isael Maxakali (Brazil), Omar Mismar (Lebanon), Thanh Hoang (Vietnam) and the collective Movimento de Luta nos Bairros, Vilas e Favelas (Brazil).

The awards, which aim to recognize and stimulate the development of artists with thought-provoking works, were selected by the international jury composed by Alexia Atala (Chile), Gabi Ngoboc (South Africa), Marta Mestre (Portugal), Rosangela Rennó (Brazil) and Reem Fadda (Kuwait). They collectively analyzed works by the 55 artists who are featured in this edition. Invited by the biennial, artist Alexandre da Cunha created the trophy-sculpture, a polished metal sculpture recreating a coconut with a straw.

The 21st Biennial of Contemporary Art runs through February 2, 2020, at Sesc 24 de Maio, in São Paulo, Brazil, featuring more than 60 works, including videos, paintings, photographs and installations, as well as video programs, open classes, meetings and talks with artists and curators.

The following is a list of prizes and awarded artists:

State-of-the-Art Award –  Electrica Cinema & Vídeo, granted to the best artist or group:
Gabriela Golder (Argentina), with the video installation Laboratorio de invención social (2018)

Sesc Contemporary Art Award, which included the awarded works in the Sesc Collection of Brazilian Art:
No Martins (Brazil), with the work #JáBasta (2019), acrylic on various fabrics
Movimento de Luta nos Bairros, Vilas e Favelas – Aiano Bemfica, Camila Bastos, Cris Araújo and Pedro Maia de Brito, with the video Conte isso àqueles que dizem que fomos derrotados (2018)

Ostrovsky Family Fund (O.F.F.) Award, which awarded the most innovative moving image artwork:
Thanh Hoang (Vietnam) with the video Nikki’s Here (2018)

Sharjah Art Foundation Residency Award
Nelson Makengo (Democratic Republic of the Congo) with the video E’ville (2018)

MMCA Residency Changdong Residency Award
Omar Mismar (Lebanon) with the video Schmitt, you and me (2016–2017)

Instituto Sacatar Residency Award
Dana Awartani (Saudi Arabia) with the installation I went away and forgot youA while ago I remembered. I remembered I’d forgotten you. I was dreaming (2017)

Honorable mention
Aykan Safoglu (Turkey) with the video Off-White Tulips (2013)
Roney Freitas & Isael Maxakali (Brazil) with the video GRIN (2016)


There are no coments available.

filter by


Geographic Zone