Organization Towards a Commons

Five years after its foundation, James McAnally and Stephanie Sherman reflect on Common Field, a US American network of artist-run spaces.

You need to register to keep reading

You have read 3 articles this month to continue to read our content uninterrupted create a FREE USER ACCOUNT.



  1. In the words of Alexis Clements: “The NEA Four—Tim Miller, Holly Hughes, John Fleck, and Karen Finley— [were] artists [who] were denied National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) funding in 1990, after Congress passed a ‘decency clause’ that gave the NEA permission to deny grants based on the subject matter of the art.” Alexis Clements, “The NEA Four Revisited: On Arts Funding,” Hyperallergic, May 14, 2013.


There are no coments available.

filter by


Geographic Zone


Sorry, this entry is only available in European Spanish.